G'day Punter!

In this Discussion

Who's Online

1 Members & 36 Non Members

Cancer Fundraiser - MACA Ride to Conquer Cancer 2016 for Mike Epis

West Australian Racing
Hi everyone

A few people have met me previously, and if you have been on this site for a while, you might know that I have participated in the Ride to Conquer Cancer previously, for my work place, The Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research. 
This year I am endeavoring to ride again the 200 km journey on the weekend of the 15-16th October to raise funds for Cancer research here at the Perkins Institute. A little bit of background, which can also be found at the fundraising page

I am a researcher at the Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research and have been in the lab of Professor Peter Leedman for nearly 15 years. I am participating for the 3rd time in this years ride to raise much needed funds for research into Cancer within the Institute. 

Our lab researches many cancers and my primary focus is in Prostate Cancer. The following is some background information on what we do.

Prostate cancer is the most commonly diagnosed cancer and is the second cause of cancer related death in men. The incidence of Prostate Cancer has increased over the last few years due to the advancements in early detection and characterization of prostate tumors. As a consequence of this early detection, the mortality rate has significantly decreased. Initially, prostate tumors express the androgen receptor and are dependent on androgens for their growth, however, the disease inevitably transforms into an castrate resistant state, whereby tumors are resistant to current treatments. While localised PCa can be treated and potentially cured if detected early, there are currently no effective therapies for later stage castrate resistant Prostate Cancer.